This discussion is archived

This Question is Not Answered

1 "correct" answer available (10 pts)
3,352 Views 5 Replies Last post: Mar 26, 2011 6:05 AM by lbrown RSS
Level 0 4 posts since
Feb 24, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 25, 2011 3:33 AM

How can I retain my RGB color when I switch to CMYK?

Hello All!  I'm a new author, and  I've just finished a full color childrens book. I've had some problems  with the proofs and CS recommended that I save the pdfs in CMYK. I can  do this but it's dulling the colors. I'm using Adobe PS CS5. How do I  retain my colors or brighten them up? Also when I formate, or save to  PDF, could someone help me with the best settings. My book size is 8X10,  and I'm having a little trouble finding the right paper size to make  sure I've got the right bleed, etc. Hey thanks in advance everyone.

Have a great day. Linda Brown

Level 5 14,268 posts since
Sep 5, 2009
1. Mar 25, 2011 6:04 AM in response to: lbrown
Re: How can I retain my RGB color when I switch to CMYK?

Color

Color perception is relative: colors are relative to each other (e.g. simultaneous contrast), what people see is relative to themselves (most people have some color deficiency).

In Photoshop you can, and should, look for out-of-gamut colors .  Adobe can mark these with the color of your choice.  You can see them and you can alter them or let the conversion from RGB to CMYK do it, example. (Out of gamut http://www.elijournals.com/premier/showArticle.asp?aid=27507)

I would recommend printing out your images. Your printer is most likely CMYK. Use a matte photo paper. Then compare the proof to them. This is still not a fair comparison, because the paper, inks, and process are different between your printer and CS's printed page. But you can make relative adjustment at your end and get a sense of where they will go when CS prints them.)