Skip navigation
This discussion is archived

This Question is Possibly Answered

1 "correct" answer available (10 pts) 2 "helpful" answers available (5 pts)
3,724 Views 8 Replies Last post: Feb 6, 2012 10:24 AM by Stumpie RSS
Level 0 2 posts since
Jun 21, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 17, 2012 11:23 PM

Author bios

Hi,

I'm new to ABNA and I've just been reading the guidelines and watching the videos.

One thing that has confused me is the Author biography. It's mentioned in the video, but not in the written entry guidelines. Do I need to write one? And if so, how long?

The videos also talk about a "synopsis" but this is not mentioned in the guidelines. Do we need to prepare a synopsis too?

Thanks!

Jenny

Level 1 153 posts since
Nov 17, 2010
1. Jan 22, 2012 6:57 AM in response to: jenny_999
Re: Author bios

Hi Jenny_999

You do need a biography. This goes is the section with your details. Once you have uploaded your pitch etc. If you get through, this is what the readers will see along with a synopsis about your book so has to be pretty well written. You will be able to preview it how they will see it and amend as necessary. . There are links on here which will give you advice on pitches, branding and grabbing your readers attention http://www.amazon.com/b?node=332264011

Evelyn_Winters

Level 0 1 posts since
Jan 17, 2012
2. Jan 22, 2012 9:21 AM in response to: Evelyn_Winters

Evelyn

I watched the video (twice) about how to enter the contest.  In that it says that the author bio is optional. Are you saying that this is required to make your entry valid?

From my understanding, following are the only three items necessary to make your entry complete. Am I wrong?

1)manuscript

2) pitch

3) 5k words excerpt

Also there is a "Description" section and "pitch" section.  Each of them is a 300 words max.  Are we to enter the same text in each of these?

Jonn.

Level 1 153 posts since
Nov 17, 2010
3. Jan 22, 2012 3:34 PM in response to: jonn

Hi Jonn