This Question is Possibly Answered

1 "correct" answer available (10 pts)
16,475 Views 21 Replies Last post: May 26, 2009 2:14 PM by DesireSuccess RSS
  1 2 Previous Next
Level 0 3 posts since
Jun 12, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 19, 2009 10:10 AM

How can I get distribution for books printed for my publishing house by createspace

I started a publishing house 2 years ago to publish a few books that friends and family had written (I also work as a translator/editor/copy editor). I have figured out all the technical aspects of getting a book into printed form, have nice copies of my book printed by createspace, and even have bookstores (Barnes and Noble) wanted to purchase my books, but they won't buy them without a distributor. From what I have found so far, the big distributors won't take publishers with less than 10 books (currently have 4 published, 7 more on the way, but I need to get these books sold now!). What are you other small publishers doing about getting distribution for bookstores?

I'd love to hear what you have to say!  My website is:

http://www.eifrigenterprises.com/eifrig-publishing.html

and the books I have published can be viewed there.

Thanks!

Penny Eifrig

https://www.createspace.com/Customer/EStore.do?id=3347764 -- JOHN APOSTAL LUCAS (Olympic Sports Historian)

https://www.createspace.com/Customer/EStore.do?id=3357269 -- A Debutante's Passion-A Coach's Erotica

Love Letters of a Harvard Man and a Boston Elite  By Ronald A. Smith (ed.)

https://www.createspace.com/Customer/EStore.do?id=3356629 -- There's a Bear in the Bathroom by Susan F. Smith

Level 3 473 posts since
Oct 15, 2008
1. Feb 19, 2009 11:25 AM in response to: eifrig
Re: How can I get distribution for books printed for my publishing house by createspace

Hi,

If you put your books onto Lulu (www.lulu.com) you can get them distributed to Barnes & Noble etc. Lulu royalties are not as good as CreateSpace, but they can offer FULL international distribution.