Skip navigation
This discussion is archived
68,765 Views 58 Replies Last post: Dec 2, 2012 7:37 AM by walton RSS Go to original post
  1 2 3 4 Previous Next
Level 5 19,154 posts since
Sep 5, 2009
Currently Being Moderated
45. Sep 25, 2012 8:16 PM in response to: Chaz
Re: wrong color

My quest to understand how CS prints is based on my experience that CS can and does print dead on--although I have received a few duds, and I've taken pains to post scans of the issues.

• I have some experience in printing, graphics arts, etc., does that give me an advantage?
  • Do do anything with regard to prepress that is different?
  • Is the work I print in color somehow different?
    • color palette
    • color space
    • style
    • content
  • Are my eyes unable to differentiate color?
  • Are my aesthetic standards lower than other?

And the same sort of questions can be asked of everyone who reports that CS has printed a job poorly.

I do not doubt that everyone who has posted about problems with quality has in fact had those problems.  Rhetorical: Why do you  have problems with 7 proofs of a cover, when I have the opposite experience?  What is different? 

Walton

Sep 5, 2009
46. Sep 26, 2012 8:46 AM in response to: R.C.

But here is the problem:

CS printed a full color book earlier this summer that is 100% identical to the same book printed by Booksurge 10+ years ago.  So somehow or someway they can do that.  Perfectly.  And that is what we should expect and demand.

If the presses are set up correctly, if the pressmen are adequately trained, if CS supports proper maintenance and calibration procedures: that is the promise of p-o-d . . . and CS can deliver on that promise.

CS has much more control over the print environment than most standard commercial offset printers.  In fact, what Indigo says is, "We have complete control over the print environment." 

Walton

Level 0 8 posts since
May 31, 2012
47. Sep 26, 2012 2:04 PM in response to: lilyleaf

Hi everyone