Skip navigation
This discussion is archived

This Question is Possibly Answered

1 "correct" answer available (10 pts) 2 "helpful" answers available (5 pts)
212,980 Views 320 Replies Last post: Oct 9, 2011 5:12 PM by JoeAlex RSS
  1 2 3 ... 22 Previous Next
Level 0 2 posts since
Dec 9, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 11, 2009 8:38 AM

How Does Lightning Source Compare to Lulu and Createspace?

I've been selling my eBook from my own website for several years now and have decided to put in a hard copy. I'm tossed up between Lulu, Createspace, and Lightning Source.

After reviewing all three and watching the forums, it seems Lightning Source is the way to go simply because they have a much more broad distribution program. However, I saw on Lightning Source's website that they only deal with publishers, not individual authors. What do they mean, "publishers?" I assume they mean "self" publishers such as myself.

I'd like to hear from someone who uses Lightning Source. What has been your experience concerning distribution and sales? Also, what is the level of difficulty compared to using Lulu and Createspace?

Thanks!

Dan

Level 5 3,328 posts since
Sep 17, 2008
1. Mar 11, 2009 9:09 AM in response to: dnb700
Re: How Does Lightning Source Compare to Lulu and Createspace?

Hi Dan,

Welcome to the CS community . . . !

I'll be brief as other members will give you better feedback on using Lightning Source because they've used it before.

However, I can relate to your indecision. I've been marketing eBooks for 10 years (and can be quite lucrative if marketing is good) but after deciding to implement these same eBooks into paperback format - I've been very impressed with the results and have benefited as a result.