This discussion is archived
5,391 Views 5 Replies Last post: Jan 24, 2013 1:57 PM by Sharpod RSS
Level 0 5 posts since
Jan 24, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 24, 2013 9:29 AM

Using InDesign for both Print and eBook

Hi All,

I'm about to start the interior design of a book that will be published in both print and digital formats thru CS. My question is: Can I design this in InDesign and use the same file to create both types?

I've noticed the templates available here are all Word. I can use that but I'm a graphic designer and InDesign is my "comfort zone". I can easily design and make the PDFs for print in I.D. but do I need to do any kind of conversion to create a properly formatted eBook? Or is that a non-issue.

This is my first book design project through CS.

Level 5 15,841 posts since
Mar 8, 2009
1. Jan 24, 2013 9:42 AM in response to: Sharpod
Re: Using InDesign for both Print and eBook

My first book was done in Pagemaker 6.5 and PDF995. When it came time to do the digital copies I used OpenOffice Writer and the Writer2ePub add-on to create the ePub version. Next I used Calibre to create the Kindle version. OO, W2ePub, and Calibre are all Freeware/uncrippled Shareware.

Seal

Professional Secrets Revealed in

Need A Job? Publish A Book! with Open Office and

FREE OpenOffice Interior & Cover Templates available at:

http://www.stevenwjohnson.com

Level 1 9 posts since
Jan 10, 2013
2. Jan 24, 2013 11:31 AM in response to: Sharpod

Here's link to some InDesign templates that was shared on another board:

http://www.selfpub.info/templates/book-templates-for-indesign.html

I haven't used them, so I can't vouch for how good they are, but it's something to check out. I hope to figure out InDesign when I get to my nonfiction work, as there will be pictures, diagrams and patterns to get sorted out.