1 "correct" answer available (10 pts)
7,377 Views 10 Replies Last post: Jan 3, 2016 10:02 PM by OlzKennett RSS
Level 0 11 posts since
Aug 1, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 11, 2015 12:28 AM

UK Authors: Ordering copies of your own book

Hi

I'm sure this question has been asked before, but I can't find it anywhere.  So apologies if I'm repeating stuff here.

I'm new to CS and am currently formatting a book.

I live in the UK.  I've been told that if I want to order bulk copies - whether to sell myself or give to friends/family - the books are printed outside the EU and cost a lot (in postage) to send to me.  Is that correct?

As for the proof book, does that also cost a lot (in postage) to send to me?  And if I find errors and need to correct them, does the next proof cost more?

If there are any UK authors here who have personal experience of the process, I'd be very grateful. Or, indeed, anyone who has the answer.

Many thanks in advance,

James

PS I hope I'm posting in the right place!

Level 5 5,218 posts since
Jan 17, 2010
1. Nov 11, 2015 12:44 AM in response to: JamesW
Re: UK Authors: Ordering copies of your own book

JamesW wrote:

I live in the UK.  I've been told that if I want to order bulk copies - whether to sell myself or give to friends/family - the books are printed outside the EU and cost a lot (in postage) to send to me.  Is that correct?

Yes. All author copies are printed in the US, and shipping from the US to the UK can be pricey.

As for the proof book, does that also cost a lot (in postage) to send to me?

All copies ordered through your Dashboard are printed in and shipped from the US.

And if I find errors and need to correct them, does the next proof cost more?

No. All proof copies (and any subsequent author copies) are charged at the same production cost, based on the interior color and page count. You can determine the production cost with this calculator.

Sarah
Editor & Book Designer
http://sleepingcatbooks.com
Find us on Facebook