Skip navigation
This discussion is archived

This Question is Possibly Answered

1 "correct" answer available (10 pts) 1 "helpful" answer available (5 pts)
1,255 Views 6 Replies Last post: May 21, 2017 11:56 PM by Lorem_Ipsum RSS
Level 0 7 posts since
Mar 26, 2017
Currently Being Moderated

May 2, 2017 9:37 AM

Self-publishing and Awards

Hi everyone,

Recently, I have published a picture book for the children (age range 4-8):

https://www.amazon.com/Alice-sleeping-S-R-Pandi-Perumal/dp/0692877908/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1493741634&sr=8-1&keywords=alice+is+sleeping

This is my first children book. I am old enough and I never grew in a house wherein people read me stories before I go to sleep. As a matter of fact, I never read any picture book for decades. Finally, when I decided to write, I did go through few books to see how people do things! I am a hardcore scientific researcher with solid publication background.

http://pandi-perumal.blogspot.com

I was trying to get in touch with few agencies that gives awards for picture books to see if my book would qualify. Strangely enough, they are all telling that they will not give awards for self-published books.

I wonder if anyone had a similar experience.

I thought getting an award or a recognition would boost the sale of the books.

Have you received any awards or recognition (especially for a picture book)? Who should I be targeting? Have you heard of any author who was recognized and awarded some prize?

Of course, I know how to use FB, LinkedIn, Twitter, and other social media for marketing.

By exploring on this issue, I found few issues:

a. some agencies charge an entry fee. This may be put off some authors

b. You need to know when, how, or where to apply

c. Apparently, these agencies ask more than 1 copies (~4-5?).