Skip navigation

This Question is Answered (go to answer)

1 "helpful" answer available (5 pts)
472 Views 8 Replies Last post: Oct 8, 2017 12:46 PM by Unruly_Pigeon RSS
Level 0 5 posts since
Aug 28, 2017
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 7, 2017 7:08 AM

What is the best way to transact book sales on my own website?

Hello gurus! I am just starting out and I am looking to reclaim the costs of production of my new book as quickly as possible. Several posters have recommended that the highest margin for book sales will be if I sell the books myself on my own website. However, I don't have a store yet. What is the best way to create a store, or way to sell books from my own website? I did create a Paypal account, and noted that they take 2.9% + 30c per transaction; on a book sale that is a significant percentage of the net profit after printing and shipping costs (to me). Thoughts??

Level 5 3,670 posts since
Feb 1, 2011
1. Oct 7, 2017 8:11 AM in response to: Unruly_Pigeon
Re: What is the best way to transact book sales on my own website?

The very best way is the way which reduces the time you have to spend, right?  That means that you give people a link to Amazon, which is people's preferred place to buy books anyway.  Look at the percentage of people who are Prime members - you know those folks do not have to pay postage, right?  Can you price your book low enough on your website to neutralize that cost?  I think not.

Anyway, that's my 2 cents.

Dan'l

Level 5 12,665 posts since
Aug 22, 2008
3. Oct 7, 2017 1:31 PM in response to: Unruly_Pigeon

I'm one of those members who advocates selling books yourself (in order to maximize profit) whenever possible.

If you're operating as a new small business with no credit history, or if you're an individual, I think it's unlikely that you'll find a better deal than PayPal (which really isn't that bad), nor a payment processor that's easier to implement and integrate with your website.