Skip navigation
This discussion is archived

This Question is Answered (go to answer)

4,427 Views 15 Replies Last post: Apr 13, 2018 2:34 AM by a-h-k RSS
  1 2 Previous Next
Level 0 11 posts since
Nov 15, 2016
Currently Being Moderated

May 11, 2017 9:04 AM

PCIP or LCIP through Copyright submission?

Dear Createspace Community,

While I have been a frequent visitor to the community, it is my first time posting.

I am almost ready to publish my first children's book and am debating on whether to obtain a PCN and have someone create a CIP block or not. I am also planning on submitting my work to the copyright office but can't figure out the timing of either one for the reasons/questions below.

I've heard that when you submit your work to the copyright office, that work will automatically be sent to LoC, and you would possibly be able to obtain a LCCN and CIP in the end.

1) How long does this process usually take (to know whether your work was catalogued)

2) Is is better to go through this process and wait for the results instead of getting a PCIP first?

3) If I get a PCIP (register for a PCN and have somebody create a CIP), would that affect my chances of getting a LCIP (which from my understanding appears more legitimate!?), or rather,

4) What happens if you already have a PCIP and then LoC choses your book for cataloging? Does the PCIP get replaced with a LCIP?

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Secci 

Level 5 12,993 posts since
Aug 22, 2008
1. May 11, 2017 9:38 AM in response to: Secchi
Re: PCIP or LCIP through Copyright submission?

If the book will be print-on-demand only, then there is virtually no chance that the LoC will ever select it for cataloging or for addition to their permanent collection.

So you would first apply to the PCN program (if you haven't already), then once accepted (not sure how long that process takes now), apply for a PCN. I think it took four days to get a PCN the last time I did it (in February).