Skip navigation
574 Views 4 Replies Last post: Dec 7, 2017 4:13 PM by walton RSS
Level 0 68 posts since
Jan 23, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 2, 2017 1:45 PM

Why is cover darker than expected?

I created my book cover in photoshop (version 5).The front cover image I bought from Dreamstine, and it looks like it doesn't need to be lightened., but my proofs have consistently come back much darker than the original image.

Does anybody have any general advice as to why I'm not getting what I see on my PS page?

Do I need to save the file another way?  Mess with the type of color (RGB, etc.)

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks

P.S.  I'm a real beginner on Photoshop.  Just limping around with it, using tutorials from YouTube, etc.

Level 0 12 posts since
Oct 31, 2017
2. Dec 6, 2017 8:22 AM in response to: bitbybug
Re: Why is cover darker than expected?

I ran into this too!

Make sure your image is completely converted to CMYK. The entire file, as well as any images placed within it.

Also, realize that printed ink appears 10-20% darker than your monitor probably looks.

I also found that gloss finish makes the covers seem a bit more vivid, while matte is slightly lighter.

CreateSpace customer service has been accomodating and helpful in helping me dial in the color on proofs.

Hope this helps,

Scott

Level 1 109 posts since
Sep 19, 2017
3. Dec 7, 2017 8:43 AM in response to: bitbybug