This Question is Answered

1 "correct" answer available (10 pts)
10,498 Views 8 Replies Last post: Oct 21, 2008 6:21 PM by Elle RSS
Level 0 11 posts since
Jun 29, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 18, 2008 12:55 PM

How to Create a Flyer for a Book Signing

I have my first book signing scheduled in 3 weeks at a local branch of a major national bookstore chain.  They have asked me to provide 100 bag stuffers to promote the book signing.  I plan to make 6"X4" cards and I know I need to have an image of the book cover, a blurb about the book, and an author bio (and maybe a picture).  I've never done this before and I was wondering if anyone could recommend a way to lay out the flyer.  Can anyone point me to an example of a book signing flyer?  I'm having trouble getting started.  I plan to use www.nextdayflyers.com to print them up, as they did a great job with my bookmarks and their prices are very reasonable.

I appreciate any help!

Level 4 1,324 posts since
May 16, 2008
1. Oct 18, 2008 12:59 PM in response to: Elle
Re: How to Create a Flyer for a Book Signing

You will need a graphic software like photoshop or free one like gimp/paint.net to design it.

If you do not have any technical knowledge, you can hire a graphic designer to do it for you.

Even I can do it for a reasonable price, if you desire. Check my works below. These are just covers but you can guess the quality of work.

http://rapidshare.com/files/155023733/my_works.zip

Level 4 1,324 posts since
May 16, 2008
3. Oct 18, 2008 1:25 PM in response to: Elle

What you are asking is a designing process itself, which cannot be explained. You need to learn it by trial and error.

Just google and you will find many designed flyers, even look at the site your are going to print from.

Design depends on the view of author itself.

I don't know how many have actually created flyers, I don't for my books as I am living in India ( can't distribute in US), but I design for others.