Skip navigation
This discussion is archived

This Question is Possibly Answered

1 "correct" answer available (10 pts) 2 "helpful" answers available (5 pts)
1,412 Views 5 Replies Last post: May 17, 2018 5:15 PM by M.H. RSS
Level 0 1 posts since
Dec 7, 2017
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 12, 2018 12:37 AM

How to stop Expanded Distribution online retailers undercutting my main listing

My problem - I'm a new author who mistakenly and very briefly opted into Expanded Distribution. The main result of this is that on-line retailers have grabbed the files and are now undercutting me on Amazon on a POD basis. They haven't even bought a book themselves! Amazon say it will take 6 weeks for the system to update, that's 6 weeks of me getting peanuts in commission. They've also disingenuously offered 'used' copies for sale (yeah right! It's a brand new book for heaven's sake!) which I suspect has been done in the event that I delete the title and try and start again. How can I put an end to this? Would it help if I changed the book title?

Level 5 4,128 posts since
Oct 27, 2010
1. Jan 12, 2018 4:07 AM in response to: RascalH
Re: How to stop Expanded Distribution online retailers undercutting my main listing

Just take the book out of Expanded Distribution, if that's what you want.

Level 4 2,558 posts since
Jul 2, 2011
2. Jan 12, 2018 4:46 AM in response to: RascalH
Re: How to stop Expanded Distribution online retailers undercutting my main listing

By putting the book into EDC, you have requested that other sellers list it.  So they did.

They don't have your book files, just the catalog information.  If anyone buys your books form them they will fill the order from Createspace and you will still get your EDC royalty as you requested.

Technically, Amazon doesn't have your book in physical form, either.  Third party sellers list everyone's books. It's just free advertising, don't worry about it.

Level 5 12,995 posts since
Aug 22, 2008