Skip navigation
211 Views 3 Replies Last post: Jan 26, 2018 5:17 PM by Maaku RSS
Level 0 1 posts since
Oct 5, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 26, 2018 2:34 PM

Simple software program to format books

I am pitching an idea to a graphics software company for a wizard driven program that will let authors select a template, select a CreateSpace standard book size, flow in text from a Word document, and then output a CreateSpace compatible PDF file.

Authors will select a size, choose from a selection of pre-designed templates, and copy and paste text from a Word document.

The program will also have pre-designed cover templates that authors can customize as much as desired.

I want to make the process as simple and straight forward as possible and to produce a professionally designed book.

I have published four books with CreateSpace with more a full featured product from the company I am pitching my idea to. The books have turned out very well (my background is advertising art direction and graphic design with formal art school training at Art Center College of Design in Los Angeles). CreateSpace is a great service for indie authors and the program I envision will let any author produce a well designed, professional looking book.

Any thoughts? Questions?

Would you be interested in a product like this?

Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Level 4 2,598 posts since
Jul 2, 2011
1. Jan 26, 2018 3:42 PM in response to: gwpriester
Re: Simple software program to format books

There are lots of ebook generators out there that take Word as input and do what you describe.

How will yours be different?

(Note this is not intended to discourage you or be snarky, but if you're pitching your idea this is the first question you'll be asked.)

Level 4 1,585 posts since
Aug 30, 2010
2. Jan 26, 2018 3:48 PM in response to: gwpriester