Skip navigation

This Question is Answered (go to answer)

1,161 Views 11 Replies Last post: Oct 31, 2017 4:39 PM by stevoz RSS
Level 0 4 posts since
Apr 20, 2017
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 26, 2017 2:03 AM

Newbie here with a couple of queries...what on earth am I missing?

Hi there,

Sorry, long post!

I'm totally new to this self-publishing process, so it has been a very steep learning curve for me...at times it's felt more like tackling an overhanging cliff!

I am now finally at the stage where i'm trying to sort my cover out to get it loaded correctly and it's been a nightmare.

My daughter had designed my cover for me on her Photoshop.

I found the page that gave you the formatting options for the cover, filled in the details, 202 pages, B&W, etc...then clicked on the 6 x9 option and followed the link to the cover template, which, rather stupidly I assumed  would give you the correct dimension to work on, otherwise why else would they need to know the other details.

When it went to manual inspection the first cover was turned down because the size was wrong.

Contacted daughter, she went back into her file and said, no, the cover i'm working on says 6 x 9, I've kept all the important work within the bleed line, spine etc, but she tweeked it a bit to make certain it was all contained well within those lines.

So I upload the cover again.

Got turned down again stating wrong size.

Contacted CS, got back mail telling me my cover needed to be x x x size, looked at the drop down options on the cover formatting page again, couldn't find anything that corolated to the size they were quoting.

Messaged CS again to query this, got a reply apologising for the misinformation I'd been given, gave me a another size that my cover should have been.

Again, retuned to the formatting page to make new template, nope...nothing on the drop down menu there, the only option that I could see what to use the 6 x 9 format again.