Skip navigation
This discussion is archived

This Question is Possibly Answered

1 "correct" answer available (10 pts) 2 "helpful" answers available (5 pts)
908 Views 8 Replies Last post: Nov 2, 2017 12:18 PM by Lorem_Ipsum RSS
Level 0 2 posts since
Aug 22, 2017
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 31, 2017 8:56 AM

Help!  Know just enough to be dangerous!,

Hi!  I am a new author of kids books.  I have one self-published picture book on the market and working on getting my second one done through Create Space.  I'm going to make the cover myself and not use the cover creator, because the templates just seem so plain and boring.  My book will be approx 25 pages and I am going with a 8.5" x 11" book size.  I am worried about getting the trim size correct.  The background picture on the cover will have bleeds on all edges.  Do I need to extend

the edge of the cover on all four sides by 1/8"?  How do I figure out the actual size of the cover?  Thanks for any advice and help!!                 

Level 5 3,860 posts since
Feb 1, 2011
1. Oct 31, 2017 9:42 AM in response to: kardik
Re: Help!  Know just enough to be dangerous!,

For your trim size.  If the book pages themselves HAVE bleed than set up your document so that the page size is 8.625 x 11.25.  If there is no bleed then use page size of 8.5 x 11.

For the cover, the best bet is to go to https://bookow.com/resources.php#createspace-cover-template-generator and input the required information.  A cover template will be created and emailed to you.  This source is what most of us here use for our covers.  The templates provided by CreateSpace have problems.

If you just want to start from scratch and create your very own cover then go HERE and read the information.

Dan'l

Level 5 19,149 posts since
Sep 5, 2009
2. Oct 31, 2017 2:47 PM in response to: kardik