Skip navigation
This discussion is archived
832 Views 7 Replies Last post: Nov 19, 2017 11:48 AM by D.Driver RSS
Level 0 3 posts since
Sep 3, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 10, 2017 10:33 AM

first self-published book

I'm just starting out in self-publishing--I hope--old enough to know back in the days when self-publishing was known as vanity press and the people who made the books made money by selling books to the authors, who then were saddled with pallets of books in the garage and no real chance of selling them. At that time, I had some "real publisher" books published about 1995 by a semi-major publisher of automotive books.history

And there's the rub. Automotive books are heavy on photos, and the reader wants good quality photos. And as a car photographer, I want my photos to look good. And that's one thing I want to know before I start out with CreateSpace. Will CreateSpace make my photos look good?

Level 5 3,978 posts since
Feb 1, 2011
1. Nov 10, 2017 12:45 PM in response to: Illiniwek
Re: first self-published book

IF (big if) you supply them with good quality photos then CS will make them look good.  Most of our books are photo books and we are very pleased with them.

Dan'l

Click Logo for Our Homepage
View Our Book Titles

Level 5 4,279 posts since
Oct 27, 2010
2. Nov 10, 2017 5:44 PM in response to: Illiniwek

Yes. No. Those are some responses you might get from asking. Instead, I would go to Amazon and search for:

createspace photo book

or something along those lines, and have a 'Look Inside The Book'.  I would be willing to buy something that comes up and looks similar to what I had in mind, just to see how it looks in the hand. That's my advice.

If you are more serious, put together a test booklet of 24 pages, using your own photography, and see how that prints with CreateSpace (and maybe others). It's not going to cost you much more than a few glasses of latte.

Level 5 19,567 posts since
Sep 5, 2009