This discussion is archived
505 Views 5 Replies Last post: Nov 27, 2017 9:28 AM by awin RSS
Level 0 12 posts since
Oct 31, 2017
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 22, 2017 1:40 PM

Cover Coloring and Curving Issues

Hello,

I'm a first time author and I've just received my first print proof (very exciting). The interior is great but I have some issues with the covers.

[Customer Support is helpful, and I have some tickets open with them. I still wanted to source any solutions the community might have as well.]

The color on the printed cover came out much darker than I expected.

Image submitted | Jpg generated for dashboard | Printed proof

Also, the front and back covers curled up as soon as I opened the package, and they don't get flattened by weight.

Curving

Any thoughts? I'm eager to release the book but want to do the cover justice first.

Level 4 2,837 posts since
Feb 7, 2015
1. Nov 22, 2017 1:44 PM in response to: SGCampbell
Re: Cover Coloring and Curving Issues

1. Monitors are typically much brighter than print.

2. Cover curling is frequently reported, although the curling I've seen has been minimal. Where a book is printed might be a factor.

Level 5 4,269 posts since
Oct 27, 2010
3. Nov 22, 2017 4:16 PM in response to: SGCampbell

One hypothesis is that you submitted a CMYK image. Unless you know what you are doing, this can lead to the results you see. The printed image appears darker because detail is lost, but it is actually not a deep black, more a flat featureless dark grey. With CreateSpace I have found it easier to provide cover artwork in RGB colour space. Maybe you could change the colour model of your file, then adjust the colour to suit yourself, and resubmit.