Skip navigation
This discussion is archived
375 Views 2 Replies Last post: Dec 12, 2017 3:00 PM by zaza09 RSS
Level 0 4 posts since
Dec 7, 2017
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 7, 2017 2:02 PM

A novice poet

Hi I just published on Amazon with the kindle version then a few weeks later I completed a paperback version of my poetry book and I publish under the pen name Sorbus Green. I have been writing for over twenty years but this is the first time I decided to dip my toe into the water and enter the world of self-publish. I was happy with the Kindle version of my book but when I done the paperback version (I ordered some copies as I intended to sell these at a book event). This was a disaster because the page numbers were out of sequence, my title page wasn't in the middle and not only that some of the text begins below the centre of the page. For someone who had taken many months over pain stakingly getting my work all typed up it has been embarassing. I did contact someone to ask for a quote to get it fixed it came back as an expensive P.R disaster. I read many books on different themes and studied litreature including some classics. I'm not very knowledgeable when it comes to converting files into a PDF file, I can type up all my material but this didn't prepare me for the impending doom of the book. I also designed my two versions as I am a photographer I wasn't keen on getting a stock photograph as I felt this wouldn't reflect on the work I produce from a literary sense. I don't only write poetry I also have written short stories and have worked on a novel. The poetry book may be a blip but I would like to be able to fix the blip it doesn't put me off getting myself up the publishing ladder.  The poetry book is 6x9, perhaps I should've made the book smaller but the design and size was the only thing I liked about the book. I'd welcome advice, I thought publishing on Amazon would be an easy step but it wasn't for me. Typing and editing were the easiest parts (I ha