Jun 27, 2012 6:19 AM

Cream vs White Paper

When would you use cream, and why?

Level 5 19,168 posts since
Sep 5, 2009
Currently Being Moderated
1. Jun 27, 2012 6:52 AM in response to: woof
Re: Cream vs White Paper

Fiction tends to be printed on off-white/cream. Non-fiction is often printed on off-whtie/cream, although text books, manuals, handbooks, and the like are more often printed on white.

The vast majority of the books on my shelves fiction, history, music, philosphy, science, essays, poetry . . . are cream.   To my eye, white is less welcoming than off-white or cream.

There is no rule.

Walton

Level 0 1 posts since
Jun 26, 2012
2. Jun 27, 2012 8:00 AM in response to: walton

Thanks for the informatiom, I am new to this field and had chosen the black and white option.  When I read your comment, I realized that white may be a little too bright for a lot of people.  I will go back and choose the cream otion instead.  I appreciate your wisdom.

Sep 5, 2009
3. Jun 27, 2012 8:50 AM in response to: frannykats

Actually, what little wisdom I have suggests that you do what is best for your book.

If you want to test things, print out a page on cream stock and a page on white.

Walton

Sep 5, 2009
5. Jun 28, 2012 9:30 AM in response to: woof

Funny you should ask:

These were scanned together.  They are relatively correct.  Of course, you monitor might display the colors correctly or not, depending on whether it has been calibrated recently.

To the eye, both the cream and the white paper stock varies in color over the last 10+ years (going back to BookSurge days); the white stock used in color books has not.

I picked a cream from the samples I have that falls in the middle and seems to be the most common.

My sample is small, so I could be wrong, too.

Walton

Level 5 15,505 posts since
Mar 8, 2009
6. Jun 28, 2012 12:24 PM in response to: woof