This discussion is archived
421 Views 3 Replies Last post: Feb 18, 2018 4:16 AM by walton RSS
Level 0 1 posts since
Feb 11, 2018
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 13, 2018 2:57 PM

margin issues? formatting issue?

Hello,

I am completely new to all of this formatting and am about to rip my hair out. I have selected the 6x9 layout and edited margins, gutters, etc on Word. Page numbers and everything is included. Then, once I upload my PDF and view it through createspace the title of my individual poems (poetry book) keeps merging into the previous page. On Word it looks perfect, but Createspace seems to mess the spacing and everything up. Help??

Level 5 3,860 posts since
Feb 1, 2011
1. Feb 13, 2018 3:12 PM in response to: veronikai
Re: margin issues? formatting issue?

If you truly uploaded a PDF - after reviewing every single page of it - there would be no difference between that and what you see on CS in the Interior Reviewer (IR).  Some people may come in here and tell you that the IR is totally unreliable, but I've done 42 books with CS and have NEVER found it to be any different than what the final book looked like.  I've done books which are very heavy on photos and also books with no photos at all - never found the IR to be unreliable.

Oh, you do realize, don't you, that for a 6 x 9 book, your page size in both Word and also in your PDF MUST be 6 x 9?

Dan'l

Click Logo for Our Homepage
View Our Book Titles

Level 5 5,597 posts since
Jan 17, 2010
2. Feb 13, 2018 3:21 PM in response to: veronikai

It's possible your fonts are not embedded in the PDF you uploaded. This would mean it would look fine on your system (which has those fonts installed), but when CS processes it, their system has to replace the font with one it has, which could have different characteristics. How did you create the PDF?

Sarah
Editor & Book Designer
http://sleepingcatbooks.com
Find us on Facebook

Learning French? Try our bilingual English-French series

Self-publishing forum