Skip navigation

This Question is Possibly Answered

1 "correct" answer available (10 pts) 2 "helpful" answers available (5 pts)
454 Views 3 Replies Last post: May 16, 2018 6:00 AM by Miblart RSS
Level 0 1 posts since
Nov 10, 2017
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 25, 2018 11:02 AM

Question about book cover

I am new to this. I want to employ a caricaturist to design a cover for my book. Are there any specifications that I should inform him about other than the size of the cover? Any words of advice would be greatly appreciated.

Level 5 5,592 posts since
Jan 17, 2010
1. Feb 25, 2018 1:21 PM in response to: Jim76
Re: Question about book cover

You can get a perfectly sized cover template from https://www.bookow.com/resources.php#cs-cover-template-generator. You should also point your designer to the cover specs at https://www.createspace.com/Products/Book/CoverPDF.jsp.

Sarah
Editor & Book Designer
http://sleepingcatbooks.com
Find us on Facebook

Learning French? Try our bilingual English-French series

Self-publishing forum

Level 2 130 posts since
Sep 19, 2017
2. Feb 26, 2018 12:23 PM in response to: Jim76

Explain that the cover is one sheet of card stock tht wraps around the book: back, spine, front.

Discuss the design concept (at the rough sketch stage) if you will be adding title/author to the front cover yourself (or the artist may hand-letter it.)  This is so you won't be covering up any vitsl elements of the artwork with title/author text.

Spine lettering is critical: safer to add the text yourself, since it must fit safely within the limits; the limit for letter height depends on spine thickness, which depends on number of pages.