Skip navigation

This Question is Possibly Answered

1 "correct" answer available (10 pts) 2 "helpful" answers available (5 pts)
472 Views 4 Replies Last post: Apr 26, 2018 1:34 AM by ozed RSS
Level 0 1 posts since
Apr 9, 2018
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 24, 2018 5:12 PM

Can I retire a title and republish it with the same ISBN?

Hi! So I'm completely new to the whole publishing process, and I made the huge mistake of hitting "approve" before my book's actual publication date, which is June 3rd, 2018. (it isn't distributed to any channels or anything, so it's not available for purchase)

I provided my own ISBN number through Bowker for the book, and I know that if I make a whole new title and just wait to hit "approve" until a couple of hours before the actual release date is supposed to happen that I will need to use a new ISBN. Is there any way that the title can be retired and I can just make a new title and use the same ISBN for the new title after the old one is retired, or do I need to use another one of my ISBN's (and then change the book's cover since it has the ISBN printed on it, change the ISBN on goodreads, etc.)

Honestly I feel so incredibly stupid for making this mistake, and I will never be making it again. The only reason I hit "approve" was because I had planned on ordering many copies of the book before its release date for ARCs and whatnot and thought that was the only possible way to do it, and I do have 105 on the way, but clearly I didn't do enough research beforehand. Lesson learned I guess.

Anyways, all suggestions are very much appreciated.

Level 5 12,993 posts since
Aug 22, 2008
1. Apr 24, 2018 6:23 PM in response to: alexandriapm
Re: Can I retire a title and republish it with the same ISBN?

alexandriapm wrote:

Is there any way that the title can be retired and I can just make a new title and use the same ISBN for the new title after the old one is retired...[?]