Skip navigation
This discussion is archived
3,724 Views 15 Replies Last post: Apr 4, 2013 3:19 PM by DenverSky5280 RSS
  1 2 Previous Next
Level 0 15 posts since
Nov 5, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 19, 2012 6:39 PM

Is createspace good for full colour illustrated book?

I'm new to POD. I'm formatting a 32 pg print/eBook in InDesign, color illustrated. Createspace: $3.65, Blurb: $27. Should i worry about $3.65 quality? Also, I work on a Cintiq drawing tablet, viewing on my Mac color differs too much. Will Create space help/guide me to color correct? I'm a worried guy. Gerzy

Level 4 1,500 posts since
Jul 28, 2008
1. Dec 19, 2012 6:54 PM in response to: gerzy
Re: Is createspace good for full colour illustrated book?

There may be a little color variation between what you see on the printed page and what you see on the screen.  It's easy and free to setup an account, load your book, and see what the product looks like.  It will just cost the price of the book plus shipping/handling to see a copy in person.  The book will be softcover.

If you want to find full-color children's books on Amazon that were published through CreateSpace, enter CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform in a search at Amazon.  You can see what the files look like using the Look Inside feature, but what you see is the file itself and not the printed page.  To see what the product would look like, it's worth uploading your book and ordering a proof.  You can easily decide not to publish it if you're not happy with it and can't resolve any problems.

You might get more help here in this forum if you have any specific problems.

Level 5 2,547 posts since
Jan 25, 2010
2. Dec 19, 2012 7:02 PM in response to: gerzy

Hi Gerzy… I’ve published several full color books for children w/CS (paperback) and printed the same books with LightningSource in hardcover.   I’ve been extremely pleased with the quality by both companies.