Skip navigation
This discussion is archived

This Question is Answered (go to answer)

1,252 Views 21 Replies Last post: Aug 4, 2013 12:43 PM by DougBrunell RSS
  1 2 Previous Next
Level 0 11 posts since
Aug 1, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 3, 2013 11:05 AM

How many pages should a chapter be??

Ok I'm new at this and I want to know how I know when I have a chapter?

Level 1 366 posts since
Aug 10, 2010
2. Aug 3, 2013 11:42 AM in response to: MaFortion
Re: How many pages should a chapter be??

There is no rule on that at all. Some of the new novels have very short chapters of only 4 or 5 pages, but I use enough pages that a 100,000-word novel has only about 30 chapters, much more than 3 pages per chapter. In short, there is no rule on chapter length at all. Also, you don't have to have them all the same length, but I try to keep them somewhat the same. If you don't know this basic fact, what else don't you know? Maybe you should wait before publishing. I'm just trying to help. There are many good books on writing fiction, and most new writers read and study just about all of them.

Level 1 366 posts since
Aug 10, 2010
3. Aug 3, 2013 11:56 AM in response to: MaFortion

About the only reason to have really short chapters is if you want the reader to feel they're reading faster than they are and give the story a fast-paced feel. Of course, if the story drags, that will not work. Also, a short story would have shorter chapters than a novel with 80,000 to 100,000 words. Again, there are no "rules" on chapter length.

Level 1 43 posts since
Nov 23, 2011
4. Aug 3, 2013 12:19 PM in response to: MaFortion