Skip navigation
This discussion is archived

This Question is Possibly Answered

1 "correct" answer available (10 pts) 1 "helpful" answer available (5 pts)
3,129 Views 5 Replies Last post: Feb 2, 2016 6:36 PM by danwiz RSS
Level 0 4 posts since
Jun 9, 2015
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 2, 2016 12:45 PM

CD Artwork: Can't get my jpegs under 6MB

Having problems creating jpegs for a CD project's artwork. In a nutshell: I can't seem to output jpegs that match the specs CreateSpace demands.

I'm not a novice. I've done dozens of print projects, some with CreateSpace, some with their competitors. But I can't seem to sort this issue out.

Using the CD booklet as an example: CS specs say they need the booklet jpegs to be 300 dpi, 1490 px x 2925 px. But the jpeg those specs produce exceeds CS's limits (the jpeg is 12.5 MB, and CS won't take anything over 6 MB). I can get the file down to 6 MB easily, but only by changing the dpi or pixel dimensions -- which of course I don't want to do.

I build the artwork in InDesign. I'm looking for a way -- in InDesign or in Photoshop -- to reduce the jpeg's file size without affecting the dpi or pixel dimensions. I am not smart enough to know if that's even possible, let alone how to do it.
Thanks in advance for any guidance on this.
Level 5 12,994 posts since
Aug 22, 2008
1. Feb 2, 2016 12:49 PM in response to: RainbowRay
Re: CD Artwork: Can't get my jpegs under 6MB

Apply JPEG compression. In Photoshop, a quality setting (under Image Options) of 12 is no compression. Try a setting of 10. You probably won't see any visible quality difference, yet it will reduce the file size considerably. If it doesn't reduce it by enough, try a lower number.

Level 5 12,994 posts since
Aug 22, 2008
4. Feb 2, 2016 5:51 PM in response to: RainbowRay

RainbowRay wrote: