Skip navigation
This discussion is archived
5,852 Views 6 Replies Last post: Feb 2, 2010 2:28 PM by Ninian RSS
Level 0 37 posts since
Sep 24, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 2, 2010 11:17 AM

Smashwords vs. CreateSpace? Which should I choose?

Hi...I'm a total newbie, just starting to read all these discussions & figure things out.

I've heard a lot about Smashwords, how it costs nothing & pays authors the highest percentage. Is that true? And what about shipping & distribution down the road? CS sends purchased books out via Amazon, right? Same way Amazon's traditional books get sent?

So what is the downside? Actually I've got TWO books I want to publish: a thriller & a cookbook.

Any help on deciding between these two would be appreciated.

Many thanks,

Joyce

P.S. Smashwords is the one that's been getting huge attention on MediaBistro & their GalleyCat newsletters. I'm wondering why.

Level 3 500 posts since
Jan 8, 2009
1. Feb 2, 2010 11:24 AM in response to: foxglove1
Re: Smashwords vs. CreateSpace? Which should I choose?

Smashwords on does E-books (kindle, sony e-readers) and Createspace does print books (hardcover, paperback). Ideally, you may want to use both but understand that there is a big difference.

Level 3 660 posts since
Jul 14, 2008
2. Feb 2, 2010 11:31 AM in response to: foxglove1

Choose both. Many do.

Smashwords is for eBooks in a variety of formats (similar to the Kindle format, and includes a Kindle friendly format as well as formats for other ereaders) but not for printed books. And yes, the revenue split is quite attractive (and until the middle of the year, it will be more favourable than Kindle revenue split and when the Kindle revenue split changes, Smashwords revenue split will still be slightly higher).  Smashwords also distributes ebooks to Barnes & Noble, Sony eReader, Kobo and Amazon for the Kindle format.